#EU2020DE

Together for Europe’s recovery.

akzente follows Germany’s Presidency of the Council of the European Union with facts and opinion, context and analysis.

#EU2020DE

On 1 July, Germany takes over the Presidency of the Council of the European Union with the rallying cry ‘Together for Europe’s recovery.’ Germany is assuming the Presidency at a time when the world is grappling with the coronavirus pandemic and all its impacts, from rising infection and death rates, overburdened health systems and social distancing to collapsing economies, a slowdown in global trade, huge debts and growing poverty. The pandemic and global health will have major influences on Germany’s Presidency across all areas, but particularly in development cooperation as it seeks global solutions to a global challenge.

Aktuelle Themen

Europe and Africa: the future of the partnership
One topic, two perspectives – in our new feature section, we ask experts to analyse a topic from their own personal perspective. To kick off, we are looking at the relationship between Africa and Europe.
Open spaces amid a concrete jungle
In the overcrowded settlements of Egypt’s metropolises, there are glimmers of hope – community centres that provide places for young people and families to relax and play sport.
How our work is delivering results
akzente presents the results achieved through the multi-donor actions of the EU and the German Government in 2019.

Focus areas for the German Presidency of the Council

The other focus areas include protecting a rights-based world order, multilateralism and, in particular, the future of Europe’s neighbouring continent, Africa. The European Commission is planning to pass a new Africa strategy this autumn, focusing on investment, access to energy and a green transformation to boost sustainability. It will be organising and chairing discussions in the run-up to agreement of the new strategy.

Digitalisation will also be crucial to Africa. The German Federal Government intends to launch initiatives to encourage innovation in Africa and to bring the continent closer to Europe in terms of technology. Another focus will be the importance of sustainable supply chains, particularly to developing countries. Ultimately, the EU Member States need to take a more concerted approach to development cooperation, and Germany plans a number of initiatives in this area.

GIZ for Europe

GIZ is supporting the German Government in a number of different ways in implementing its priorities during the Presidency. On an ongoing basis, it feeds its expertise into a range of ministries in Germany but also to the European Commission in Brussels, and over the six months of the Presidency it will be running many different specialised events in relevant areas.

As a German federal enterprise, however, GIZ is already working on fulfilling the political principles and international obligations of the EU and of Germany. It works around the world both with and on behalf of the EU in numerous thematic areas and supports it on behalf of the German Government in fields ranging from technical advisory services to practical project implementation. It is active in areas including ‘green’ energy, environmental protection, climate change, economic development and employment, sustainable agriculture, displacement, peace, human rights, and the partnership with Africa. And in future, alongside particular involvement in climate change and energy (the ‘Green Deal’), it will also focus on the increasingly important topic of the circular economy, which the EU is keen to promote both in its own Member States and in partner countries around the world.

EU Facts

GIZ’s business volume with the EU has increased steadily in recent years and has more than doubled to EUR 375 million since 2015.

The EU’s involvement around the world

Another reason the EU is able to make a difference is that it is a major global player: along with its Member States, it provides more than half of all public development financing, making it the largest donor to international development cooperation. The framework within which it does this is, at European level, the 2017 European Consensus on Development, which identifies eradicating poverty and promoting sustainable development in partner countries as its two key objectives. At international level, the United Nations’ 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, with its 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), and the Paris Climate Agreement form the framework for the EU’s commitment.

GIZ uses its decades of experience, its technical expertise and its wide-ranging implementation skills to good effect in EU activities around the world. It is able to implement demanding commissions in the field of international cooperation rapidly and effectively, even under the most challenging conditions. And that is a crucial skill during the ongoing coronavirus crisis.

Aktuelle Themen

Strong voices for Europe
The economy, security, health and development: we asked experts on Europe for their views on the key topics shaping Germany’s presidency of the EU Council.
A matter of time
Across the globe, the coronavirus pandemic is serving as a wake-up call to improve the coordination of epidemic prevention measures. Cooperation with the ECOWAS region shows how it can be done.
Projects in brief
The European Union promotes development, peace and democracy around the world. GIZ is implementing a host of projects on its behalf all over the globe. Here is a selection.

Examples of our Work for the EU

Interview

‘Mitigate the impact of the coronavirus pandemic’

Economist Siegfried Leffler has been Director of the GIZ Representation in Brussels since 2016. He manages GIZ’s cooperation activities with the institutions of the EU, primarily with the European Commission.

MORE

Links & Copyright

#EU2020DE

Gemeinsam. Europa wieder stark machen

akzente begleitet die deutsche EU-Ratspräsidentschaft mit Fakten, Stimmen, Hintergründen und Analysen.

#EU2020DE

Deutschland übernimmt am 1. Juli die EU-Ratspräsidentschaft unter dem Motto: „Gemeinsam. Europa wieder stark machen“. Das geschieht in einer Zeit, in der die Welt mit der Coronavirus-Pandemie samt aller Folgen kämpft: Sie reichen von steigenden Infektions- und Sterberaten, überlasteten Gesundheitssystemen und Kontaktverboten bis hin zu wirtschaftlichen Einbrüchen, einem gebremsten Welthandel, wachsenden Schuldenbergen und steigender Armut. Deshalb werden die Pandemie und die globale Gesundheit die deutsche EU-Ratspräsidentschaft prägen. Das gilt ganz allgemein, aber im Besonderen auch für die Entwicklungszusammenarbeit, denn es geht jetzt um die Frage, wie man zu globalen Antworten für eine globale Herausforderung kommen kann.

Aktuelle Themen

Europa und Afrika: Die Zukunft der Partnerschaft
Ein Thema, zwei Sichtweisen – in unserer neuen Rubrik bitten wir Expert*innen, ein Thema aus ihrer persönlichen Sicht zu analysieren. Den Auftakt bildet die Beziehung zwischen Afrika und Europa.
Freiräume im Dickicht der Steine
In den überfüllten Siedlungen von Ägyptens Millionenstädten sind sie Lichtblicke: Stadtteilzentren, die Jugendlichen und Familien Orte für Erholung und Sport bieten.
Wie unsere Arbeit wirkt
akzente präsentiert Wirkungen der Gemeinschaftsmaßnahmen von der EU und der Bundesregierung aus dem Jahr 2019.

Schwerpunkte der Ratspräsidentschaft

Zu den weiteren Schwerpunkten zählt neben dem Einstehen für eine rechtebasierte Weltordnung und dem Multilateralismus vor allem der Nachbarkontinent Afrika: Die EU-Kommission plant, im Herbst eine neue EU-Afrika-Strategie zu verabschieden, in deren Mittelpunkt Investitionen, Energiezugang und eine grüne Transformation hin zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit stehen. Die Diskussionen bis zum Abschluss der Strategie gilt es, zu organisieren und zu moderieren.

In Zusammenhang mit Afrika wird zudem die Digitalisierung eine große Rolle spielen. Hier nimmt sich die Bundesregierung vor, einige Initiativen zu starten, die Afrikas Innovationen voranbringen und technologisch näher an Europa heranrücken lassen. Auch die Bedeutung nachhaltiger Lieferketten, gerade für Entwicklungsländer, wird im Fokus stehen. Schließlich sollen die EU-Mitgliedstaaten in der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit geschlossener auftreten; auch dafür hat die Bundesregierung diverse Initiativen ins Auge gefasst.

Die GIZ für Europa

Die GIZ unterstützt die Bundesregierung auf vielfältige Weise dabei, ihre Prioritäten während der EU-Ratspräsidentschaft umzusetzen. Sie bringt kontinuierlich ihre Expertise bei verschiedenen Ministerien in Deutschland, aber auch bei der Kommission in Brüssel ein und führt in den sechs Monaten diverse fachlich relevante Veranstaltungen durch.

Als deutsches Bundesunternehmen trägt die GIZ mit ihrer Arbeit aber auch zu anderen Zeiten dazu bei, die politischen Grundsätze und internationalen Verpflichtungen der EU und der Bundesregierung zu erfüllen. Dafür arbeitet die GIZ weltweit mit und für die EU auf zahlreichen Themenfeldern und unterstützt sie im Auftrag der Bundesregierung von der fachlichen Beratung bis zur praktischen Umsetzung von Projekten. So zum Beispiel bei „grüner“ Energie, Umweltschutz, Klimawandel, bei Wirtschafts- und Beschäftigungsförderung, bei nachhaltiger Landwirtschaft, beim Thema Flucht, Frieden und Menschenrechten oder bei der Partnerschaft mit Afrika. Künftig wird neben dem besonderen Engagement für Klima und Energie („Green Deal“) auch die Kreislaufwirtschaft noch an Bedeutung gewinnen, welche die EU in den Mitgliedstaaten selbst und in Partnerländern rund um den Globus fördern möchte.

EU-Fakten

Das Geschäftsvolumen der GIZ mit der EU hat in den letzten Jahren stetig zugenommen und sich seit 2015 auf 375 Millionen Euro mehr als verdoppelt.

Das Engagement der EU in der Welt

Die EU kann auch deshalb wirksame Akzente setzen, weil sie international ein sehr bedeutsamer Akteur ist: Zusammen mit ihren Mitgliedstaaten bringt sie mehr als die Hälfte aller öffentlichen Entwicklungsgelder auf und ist damit der größte Geber in der internationalen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit. Den Rahmen dafür bildet auf europäischer Ebene der „Europäische Konsens über die Entwicklungspolitik“ aus dem Jahr 2017, der als wichtigste Ziele den Kampf gegen Armut und die Förderung nachhaltiger Entwicklung in den Partnerländern festgeschrieben hat. International bilden die Agenda 2030 der Vereinten Nationen mit ihren 17 nachhaltigen Entwicklungszielen (SDGs) und das Pariser Klimaabkommen den Rahmen für das EU-Engagement.

In die weltweiten Aktivitäten der EU bringt sich die GIZ mit ihrer jahrzehntelangen Erfahrung, ihrer fachlichen Expertise und ihrer großen Umsetzungsstärke ein. Damit ist die Fähigkeit gemeint, anspruchsvolle Aufträge der internationalen Zusammenarbeit auch unter schwierigsten Bedingungen schnell und wirksam umzusetzen. Das ist gerade in Corona-Zeiten eine besondere Kompetenz.

Aktuelle Themen

Starke Stimmen für Europa
Wirtschaft, Sicherheit, Gesundheit, Entwicklung: Wir haben Europa-Expertinnen und -Experten nach ihrer Sicht auf Themen befragt, die die deutsche Ratspräsidentschaft bestimmen.
Eine Frage der Zeit
Die Coronavirus-Pandemie ist weltweit ein Weckruf für eine bessere Koordination bei der Seuchenprävention. Wie das geht, zeigt die Zusammenarbeit mit der ECOWAS-Region.
Projekte im Überblick
Die Europäische Union setzt sich für Entwicklung, Frieden und Demokratie in der Welt ein. In ihrem Auftrag führt die GIZ weltweit zahlreiche Projekte durch. Eine Auswahl.

Beispiele unserer Arbeit für die EU

Interview

„Die Folgen der Corona-Pandemie abfedern“

Der studierte Ökonom Siegfried Leffler leitet seit 2016 die Brüsseler GIZ-Repräsentanz. Dort betreut er die Zusammenarbeit der GIZ mit den EU-Institutionen, vor allem mit der Europäischen Kommission.

MEHR

Linksammlung & Bildnachweise

Die auf dieser Seite genannten Informationen sowie weitere Fakten und Zahlen zur EU finden Sie auf folgenden Seiten:
www.eu2020.de
www.bmz.de/de/ministerium/wege/ez_eu
www.giz.de/de/mit_der_giz_arbeiten/135.html
www.giz.de/eventsbrussels (Englisch)
www.giz.de/de/weltweit/300.html
www.parleu2020.de
europa.eu/european-union/index_de

Bildnachweise: François Genon, Europäisches Parlament, Thomas Imo/photothek.net, Marius Becker/dpa