Media Center

Get an idea of the work of GIZ: with impressions, backgrounds and voices on the akzente stories.

Fashion made in Georgia

Fashion from Georgia is being celebrated on the catwalk. However, if the industry is to establish itself on the European market, it needs not just creativity, but above all new expertise. Read more Fashion made in Georgia

Perls of knowledge - Educational support programmes in Afghanistan

Education is a weapon against extremism. Teachers are busy learning about modern teaching methods to make lessons more appealing for Afghan children. Find out more Perls of Knowledge

Four-legged therapist – Dog therapy in eastern Ukraine

In eastern Ukraine, specially trained dogs are helping to treat disabled children and those traumatised by conflict. Elena Lakhno, owner of the therapy dog Hillary, talks about her work. Find out more: Four legged therapist

Healty future – Medical care in DR Congo

The health care system in the eastern part of the Democratic Republic of the Congo is being given a new lease of life. The impoverished province of South Kivu shows how this might look. Insights from a hospital and a medical centre full of mothers and babies. Find out more Healty future

Improving knowledge – Youth promotion in Central America

In Central America, the majority of young people are unemployed. Initiatives for youth employment should counteract this problem. María Teresa Anchía has taken advantage of an initiative and completed additional training at a vocational school. Find out more Improving knowledge

Half the world – The LEAD programme strengthens women in leadership positions in the Middle East

After five years as a member of the Jordanian Parliament, Manar abu Rumman decided to run as a candidate in the 2017 elections. There she achieved a good result and now is a member of the Al-Balqa Provincial Council. In the video she talks about her candidacy and how the LEAD programme, which supports women in leading positions in the Middle East, helped her. Find out more Breaking new ground together

On course for a better future – Decentralisation in Ukraine

Following the Maidan Revolution, decentralisation has taken place in large parts of Ukraine. As a result, communities are able to join forces and decide on their own funds and investments. Jevhenia Korennaya, head of Stepowe's village, reports on this process. Find out more On Course for a better Future

More safety and sustainability – The training programme PURE in Bangladesh

PURE, a project for environmental and resource efficiency, ensures safer and cleaner working conditions in 40 Bangladeshi textile companies. This also applies to the company "Mother Color" near Dhaka, the employer of Mohiyan Bepari. In the video he talks about the positive changes in his working life. Find out more Cleaning Up

Craftsmanship in Albania - Skills for employability of tomorrow

To find out more about conserving historical sites and developing craft skills, we visited a building site in the World Heritage town of Berat in Albania. Find out more Albanian Treasures

Supporting farmworkers in northern Iraq in response to the Syrian crisis

Following the war against the so-called Islamic State terrorist militia, northern Iraq is having to provide for millions of people who sought refuge there. This is a huge challenge given the prevailing economic crisis. Find out more Building Hope

Mediathek

Mediathek

Machen Sie sich ein Bild von der Arbeit der GIZ: mit Impressionen, Hintergründen und Stimmen zu den akzente-Geschichten. Geben Sie einfach ein Schlagwort, Ressort beziehungsweise eine Region ein, oder stöbern Sie im Archiv.

Auf den Laufstegen wird Mode aus Georgien gefeiert. Neben Kreativität braucht die Industrie aber vor allem neues Know-how, um sich auf dem europäischen Markt zu etablieren. Mehr dazu unter Mode made in Georgia

Bildung ist eine Waffe gegen Extremismus. Um afghanische Kinder für die Schule zu begeistern, pauken Lehrer*innen moderne Unterrichtsmethoden. Mehr dazu unter Perlen des Wissens

In der Ostukraine helfen Hunde, vom Krieg traumatisierte oder behinderte Kinder zu behandeln. Elena Lakhno, Besitzerin der Therapiehündin Hillary, berichtet von ihrer gemeinsamen Arbeit.
Mehr dazu unter: Therapeut auf vier Pfoten

Im Osten Kongos wird das Gesundheitssystem wiederbelebt. Wie Rezepte dafür aussehen können, zeigt die arme Provinz Süd-Kivu. Besuche in einer Klinik und einem medizinischen Zentrum voller Mütter und Babys. Mehr dazu unter Gesunde Zukunft

In Zentralamerika ist ein Großteil der jungen Menschen arbeitslos. Initiativen für Jugendbeschäftigung sollen diesem Problem entgegenwirken. María Teresa Anchía hat eine Initiative in Anspruch genommen und an einem Berufsgymnasium eine zusätzliche Ausbildung absolviert. Mehr dazu unter Mehr Wissen

Nach fünf Jahren als Mitarbeiterin im jordanischen Parlament, entschied sich Manar abu Rumman 2017 als Kandidatin bei den Gouvernementswahlen anzutreten. Dort erreichte sie ein gutes Ergebnis und sitzt seitdem im Rat der Provinz Al-Balqa. Im Video erzählt sie von ihrer Kandidatur und wie das LEAD-Programm, welches Frauen in führenden Positionen im Nahen Osten unterstützt, ihr geholfen hat. Mehr dazu unter Gemeinsam aufbrechen

Nach der Maidan-Revolution ist in weiten Teilen der Ukraine eine Dezentralisierung eingetreten. Diese hat zur Folge, dass sich naheliegende Gemeinden zusammenschließen und selbst über die Gelder und Investitionen entscheiden können. Die Dorfvorsteherin von Stepowe, Jevhenia Korennaya, berichtet über diesen Prozess. Mehr dazu unter Kurs auf eine bessere Zukunft

PURE, ein Projekt zur Umwelt- und Ressourceneffizienz, sorgt für sicherere und sauberere Arbeitsbedingungen in 40 Textilunternehmen in Bangladesch. Auch bei „Mother Color“ bei Dhaka, dem Arbeitgeber von Mohiyan Bepari. Im Video spricht er über die positiven Veränderungen in seinem Arbeitsleben. Mehr dazu unter Saubere Sache

Historische Orte retten und Handwerker qualifizieren. Wie das geht, zeigt ein Besuch auf einer Baustelle in der Weltkulturerbe-Stadt Berat. Mehr dazu unter Albanische Schätze