Working in Germany

Make it in Hamburg!

A Hamburg-based project which promotes the integration of foreign ­experts is benefiting both jobseekers and employers in Germany.

Text: 
Mirjam Hecking
Photo: 
Tim Hoppe

His dark eyes focused straight ahead, Farhad Haidari, a young man from Afghanistan, absentmindedly runs his index finger over his top lip. A few metres in front of him, workshop leader Bernd Wenske is explaining what should be included in a German job application: ‘If it says: “Please send your complete application”, this means that you should send all certificates and references along with your CV,’ he explains. ‘The same applies if the terms “detailed”, “comprehensive” or “full” are used,’ he adds in German-accented English. With a soft click, he puts the lid back on the pen he used to write the key words on the flip chart. 

New start: with Make it in Hamburg!, Farhad Haidari is now learning the intricacies of the German working world – and there are one or two surprises.

New start: with Make it in Hamburg!, Farhad Haidari from Afghanistan is now learning the intricacies of the German job market.

Haidari’s neighbour, a woman with curly blond hair, bursts out laughing. ‘Germans have so many words for exactly the same thing,’ she says, shaking her head, but taking note of the terms nonetheless. After all, she does not want to make any mistakes.

Funded by the European Social Fund and the City of Hamburg

Together with ten other participants, they are sitting in a bright room in an old building near Hamburg’s central train station. There are coffee cups, water bottles and laptops on the tables of the participants, who come from Cyprus, France, India, Poland, South Africa and, of course, Afghanistan. The atmosphere is one of concentrated silence, interrupted only by the occasional clicking of a keyboard.

In red letters, a poster on the window reads ‘Make it in Hamburg!’, the name of a project which is being implemented by GIZ. It aims to help foreign skilled ­professionals in Hamburg to find work. The three-day job application training workshop organised by cooperation partner ­Arbeit und Leben Hamburg complements the one-on-one advice provided by GIZ. The project is funded equally by the European Social Fund and the City of Hamburg.

Despite the shortage of skilled professionals, many companies are still cautious

All participants speak fluent English. Many have excellent university degrees, some even have doctorates. Yet they are still struggling to find a job on their own in Germany. This is due to the fact that, ­despite regular reports in the media about the shortage of skilled professionals in ­Germany: ‘When it comes to employing foreign applicants, many companies are still very cautious,’ says Florian Krins from GIZ. Native to Hamburg, he has seen this many times. Since the beginning of 2014, he has been advising well-educated foreign jobseekers through the Make it in Hamburg! project.

However, it is not just companies that need to expand their knowledge. Many ­foreign applicants do not know how the German labour market works. ‘The application process in Germany is fundamentally different to that of other countries,’ explains Krins.

Advice about job portals and CVs

More than 450 foreign specialists from over 70 countries worldwide have sought support since the project was launched. They are given advice and tips, and take part in workshops like the one run by Bernd Wenske. Not everyone who walks through the door of GIZ’s Hamburg city centre office needs job application training. Some only need to be pointed in the direction of suitable job portals. Others have no idea where to start.

Job application training, such as the workshop completed by Haidari, can be a good place to begin. Jobseekers spend three days learning about the intricacies and ­idiosyncrasies of the German working world. The dos and don’ts of writing a CV. How to handle salary negotiations. And how to word a cover letter that will grab a company’s attention. ‘If a vacancy lists ten requirements but I only meet nine, should I bother applying?’ asks Haidari, his eyebrows raised incredulously. ‘Yes,’ Wenske answers calmly. The grey-haired workshop leader dressed in jeans and a light, short-sleeved shirt adjusts his horn-rimmed glasses. ‘A job advertisement is like a wish list. You can still apply even if you don’t meet all the criteria,’ he says, looking around the group.

In the job application training course, Farhad Haidari (second from the left) and the other participants learn that the requirements in a job advertisement are really more of a wish list. So they should be bold and apply anyway, even if they do not meet all the criteria. Groups are relatively small. Each participant can ask questions relating to their own personal situation. Workshop leader Bernd Wenske explains patiently. Picture gallery: A job application training with participants from all over the world in Hamburg.

Arunkumar Jayaprakash also knows how difficult it can be to gain a foothold on the German labour market. The 33-year-old aircraft engineer from Bangalore has lived in Hamburg for more than three years. He was brought to the city by an Airbus supplier to develop parts for the A350. The aircraft is now complete. And he is unemployed.

The engineer from India has been invited to a job interview

He needs to find a new job soon. But even contacting potential employers is proving more difficult than he anticipated. ‘Most people just hang up the phone,’ he explains, pulling a thread from his freshly ironed linen shirt. ‘Maybe my name puts them off.’

After taking part in telephone training through Make it in Hamburg!, things are now looking up. ‘We practised explaining the reason for our call to the person on the other end of the phone and learned that you should perhaps not mention your name first,’ he says. ‘I now always make a point of explaining which is my given name and which is my family name,’ says Jayaprakash, with a mischievous glint in his eye. Just to be on the safe side, he has shortened his first name, Arunkumar, to Arun. Although he has yet to find a job, companies are now getting back to him. ‘I also have a date for an interview,’ he says.

Workshops for skilled professionals

Internationality has long been part of Hamburg’s history – the port and city of commerce has always benefited from diversity. Skilled professionals with new ideas are in high demand here. The Make it in Hamburg! project helps these professionals to integrate into the labour market. Among other things, it offers a service point for jobseekers and companies. On behalf of the Hanseatic City of Hamburg, GIZ also offers job application training and intercultural workshops. The project is part-funded by the European Social Fund. Around 450 skilled professionals have already taken advantage of the services on offer. Roughly 300 have taken part in workshops, and more than 75 have subsequently found a job, training place or internship.

Zhuoli Li – or Linda Lee, as she calls herself here in Germany – faced a similar situation. The 32-year-old international sales specialist from China has been in Hamburg for over a year. She moved to Germany from Shanghai to work in customer services at an automotive supplier, but her contract is now about to expire. Li appreciates German social standards and wages and wants to stay in Germany. She has also built up an international circle of friends in Hamburg.

Zhuoli Li’s job search in Germany.

With the help of the job application training course, she learned how to formulate a cover letter. And this led to an interview with a technology firm. ‘The interview went really well,’ she says, beaming. A few weeks later, she has even better news: the contract is signed.

Nonetheless, Li is continuing to work on her German. That, she has noticed, is a key criterion for entering the German labour market. Even if English is the main working language, ‘Companies still expect you to have good German skills,’ she says.

> Contact: Florian Krins florian.krins@giz.de

published in akzente 1/16

More on giz.de:

Arbeiten in Deutschland

Make it in Hamburg!

Von einem Hamburger Projekt zur Integration ausländischer Fachkräfte in den Arbeitsmarkt profitieren beide Seiten: Jobsuchende und Arbeitgeber in Deutschland.

Text: 
Mirjam Hecking
Foto: 
Tim Hoppe

Der Blick aus den dunklen Augen ist konzentriert nach vorne gerichtet. Unbewusst streicht Farhad Haidari mit dem Zeigefinger über seine Oberlippe. Wenige Meter vor dem jungen Mann aus Afghanistan steht Bernd Wenske und erklärt, was in eine deutsche Bewerbung gehört: „Wenn da steht: ‚Bitte senden Sie uns Ihre komplette Bewerbung‘, dann heißt das, dass ihr sämtliche Zeugnisse samt Lebenslauf mitschicken sollt“, erläutert der Seminarleiter. „Dasselbe gilt, wenn da ‚ausführlich‘, ‚aussagekräftig‘ oder ‚aussagefähig‘ steht“, fügt er in etwas deutsch gefärbtem Englisch hinzu. Und schließt mit einem leisen Klick den Stift, mit dem er die Schlüsselwörter auf das Flipchart geschrieben hat.

Neustart: Bei „Make it in Hamburg!“ lernt Farhad Haidari die Feinheiten der deutschen Arbeitswelt kennen – und erfährt manch Überraschendes.

Neustart: Bei „Make it in Hamburg!“ lernt Farhad Haidari aus Afghanistan die Feinheiten des deutschen Arbeitsmarktes kennen.

Die blond gelockte Nachbarin von Haidari lacht auf. „Die Deutschen haben immer so viele Ausdrücke für genau dasselbe“, meint sie kopfschüttelnd, notiert sich aber sämtliche Formulierungen. Schließlich will sie bei ihrer nächsten Bewerbung keine Fehler machen.

Finanziert vom Europäischen Sozialfonds und der Stadt Hamburg

Zusammen mit zehn weiteren Teilnehmern sitzen die beiden in einem lichtdurchfluteten Raum in der Nähe des Hamburger Hauptbahnhofs. Die Kieferntische in dem Altbauzimmer sind hufeisenförmig auf eine große digitale Tafel ausgerichtet. Kaffeetassen, Wasserflaschen und Laptops stehen auf den Tischen der Teilnehmer, die aus Frankreich, Indien, Polen, Südafrika, Zypern oder eben Afghanistan kommen. Es herrscht konzentrierte Stille. Nur ab und zu klickt die Tastatur eines Laptops.

Am Fenster hängt ein Poster, „Make it in Hamburg!“ steht darauf in Rot. Es ist der Name eines Projekts, das die GIZ umsetzt. Sein Ziel: ausländische Fachkräfte in Hamburg bei der Jobsuche zu unterstützen. Dabei ergänzt das vom Kooperationspartner Arbeit und Leben Hamburg durchgeführte dreitägige Bewerbertraining die persönliche Beratung durch die GIZ. Finanziert wird das Projekt zu gleichen Teilen aus dem Europäischen Sozialfonds und von der Stadt Hamburg.

Trotz Fachkräftemangels sind viele Unternehmen sehr vorsichtig

Alle Anwesenden sprechen fließend Englisch. Viele haben exzellente Studienabschlüsse, einige sogar Doktortitel. Dennoch tun sie sich schwer damit, auf eigene Faust in Deutschland eine Stelle zu finden. Denn auch wenn die Medien regelmäßig über den sich abzeichnenden Fachkräftemangel in Deutschland berichten: „Wenn es darum geht, ausländische Bewerber anzustellen, sind viele Unternehmen noch sehr vorsichtig“, sagt Florian Krins von der GIZ. Der Hamburger hat es schon oft erlebt. Seit Anfang 2014 berät er bei „Make it in Hamburg!“ gut ausgebildete Jobsuchende aus dem Ausland.

Doch es sind nicht nur die Unternehmen, die dazulernen müssen. Viele der ausländischen Bewerber wissen nicht, wie der deutsche Arbeitsmarkt funktioniert. „Die Bewerbungskultur in Deutschland unterscheidet sich fundamental von der in anderen Ländern“, erklärt Krins.

Beratung zu Stellenbörsen und Lebenslauf

Mehr als 450 ausländische Fachkräfte aus mehr als 70 Ländern haben seit dem Start des Projekts dessen Unterstützung angenommen. Sie lassen sich beraten, holen sich Tipps oder nehmen an Seminaren wie dem von Bernd Wenske teil. Nicht alle, die in das GIZ-Büro in der Hamburger Innenstadt kommen, brauchen ein Bewerbertraining. Manche müssen nur auf geeignete Stellenbörsen hingewiesen werden. Andere wissen gar nicht, wo sie anfangen sollen.

Ein Bewerbertraining, wie Haidari es absolviert, kann ihnen weiterhelfen. Drei Tage lang lernen Jobsuchende die Feinheiten und Tücken der deutschen Arbeitswelt kennen. Worauf man bei einem Lebenslauf achten muss. Wie man sein Gehalt aushandelt. Und wie man ein Anschreiben formulieren sollte, um Unternehmen für sich zu interessieren. „Wenn in einer Stellenausschreibung zehn Anforderungen aufgelistet sind, ich aber nur neun erfüllen kann, soll ich mich dann wirklich bewerben?“ Farhad Haidari aus Afghanistan kann es kaum glauben. Mit hochgezogenen Brauen schaut er Kursleiter Wenske an. „Ja“, antwortet Wenske ruhig. Der grauhaarige Kursleiter in Jeans und hellem Kurzarmhemd rückt seine Hornbrille zurecht. „Eine Stellenausschreibung ist so etwas wie eine Wunschliste. Da könnt ihr euch auch bewerben, wenn nicht alles hundertprozentig passt“, sagt er und blickt in die Runde.

Im Bewerbertraining hören Far­had Haidari (Zweiter von links) und die anderen Teilnehmer, dass die An­forderungen in einer Stellenausschreibung zunächst als Wunschliste zu verstehen sind. Also: Mut haben – und es mit einer Bewerbung versuchen, auch wenn man nicht alle Punkte erfüllt.Die Gruppen sind vergleichsweise klein, jeder Teilnehmer und jede Teilnehmerin kann sich mit Fragen zur jeweils persönlichen Situation einbringen.Seminarleiter Bernd Wenske erklärt geduldig. Bildergalerie Besuch bei einem Bewerbertraining mit internationalen Teilnehmern in Hamburg.

Dass es gar nicht so einfach ist, auf dem deutschen Arbeitsmarkt Fuß zu fassen, hat auch Arunkumar Jayaprakash erfahren müssen. Der 33-jährige Flugzeugingenieur aus Bangalore lebt bereits seit mehr als drei Jahren in Hamburg. Ein Airbus-Zulieferer hatte ihn in die Stadt geholt. Dort entwickelte er Teile des A350. Nun ist das Flugzeug fertig. Und Jayaprakash arbeitslos.

Der Ingenieur aus Indien hat ein Bewerbungsgespräch

Ein neuer Job muss her. Doch schon die Kontaktaufnahme zu möglichen neuen Arbeitgebern gestaltete sich schwieriger als erwartet. „Am Telefon haben die meisten einfach aufgelegt“, erzählt Jayaprakash und zupft einen Fussel von seinem frisch gebügelten Leinenhemd. „Vielleicht hat sie schon mein Name abgeschreckt.“

Nach einer Telefonschulung durch „Make­ it in Hamburg!“ läuft es nun besser. „Da haben wir geübt, dass man seinem Gegenüber zunächst einmal darlegt, worum es geht. Und den Namen vielleicht nicht als Erstes nennt“, erzählt er. „Mittlerweile erkläre ich auch immer, welcher mein Vorname und welcher mein Nachname ist“, sagt Jayaprakash. Dabei blitzen seine Augen schelmisch. Den Vornamen, Arunkumar, hat er sicherheitshalber zu Arun abgekürzt. Einen Job hat der junge Inder zwar noch nicht. Doch mittlerweile melden sich die Firmen bei ihm zurück. „Und einen Termin für ein Vorstellungsgespräch habe ich auch schon“, sagt er.

Seminare für Fachkräfte

Internationalität gehört zu Hamburgs Geschichte – die Hafen- und Handelsstadt hat seit jeher von Vielfalt profitiert. Gut ausgebildete Fachkräfte mit neuen Ideen sind hier immer gefragt. Das Projekt „Make it in Hamburg!“ unterstützt sie bei der Integration in den Arbeitsmarkt. Unter anderem gibt es eine Servicestelle, an die Jobsuchende und Unternehmen sich wenden können. Die GIZ bietet im Auftrag der Hansestadt Hamburg zudem Bewerbungstrainings und interkulturelle Workshops an. Der Europäische Sozialfonds beteiligt sich an der Finanzierung. Rund 450 Fachkräfte haben die Angebote bereits genutzt. Etwa 300 nahmen an Seminaren teil, mehr als 75 fanden im Anschluss einen Job, eine Ausbildungsstelle oder ein Praktikum.

Ähnlich wie Jayaprakash ging es Zhuoli Li – oder Linda Lee, wie sie sich hier in Deutschland nennt. Die 32-jährige Chinesin ist bereits seit mehr als einem Jahr in Hamburg. Ein Automobilzulieferer hatte die internationale Handelsfachkraft als Kundenbetreuerin aus Schanghai nach Deutschland geholt. Nun läuft ihr Vertrag aus. Sie will in Deutschland bleiben, denn sie schätzt die deutschen Sozialstandards und Gehälter. Auch einen internationalen Freundeskreis hat sich Li in Hamburg aufgebaut. 

Mit der Unterstützung der Bewerbungstrainer lernte sie, ein Anschreiben zu formulieren. Mit Erfolg: Sie wurde von einem Technologiekonzern eingeladen. „Das Vorstellungsgespräch ist ganz gut gelaufen“, erzählt sie strahlend. Wenige Wochen später hat sie eine noch bessere Nachricht: Der Vertrag ist unterzeichnet.

Zhuoli Li auf Jobsuche in Deutschland.

Trotzdem paukt Zhuoli Li weiter fleißig Deutsch. Denn das, hat sie gemerkt, ist eine wichtige Eintrittskarte in den deutschen Arbeitsmarkt. Auch wenn im Job vor allem Englisch gesprochen wird: „Die Unternehmen erwarten das einfach.“

> Ansprechpartner: Florian Krins florian.krins@giz.de

aus akzente 1/16

Mehr auf giz.de: